Account Management FAQs

Other Help Topics

Account Management

How do I upgrade my account?

You’ve run through the profile wizards, or maybe you’ve browsed other user profiles, and now you’re ready to start communicating, start running background checks, and start finding the perfect fit for your family. First, you can click the Your Account link located on the upper right side of the NRFA webpages.

Next, visit the Membership Information section about halfway down the page. You’ll see that your current membership plan is highlights next to Account Status. To change your membership, click Select a Plan.

How do I modify my profile?

Go to the My Account page, a link is at the top right hand of the homepage of NRFA.org. On the left had side of the page, about halfway down, is a link to My Profile, this will allow you to go back through the wizard and make changes.

How do I edit my personal information? (address, email, password, etc.)

It is important to keep your personal information up to date. First, make sure you are on the My Account page. The link to get on Your Account is at the top right of the homepage. Along the left hand side you’ll see your Account & Settings choice most of the way down the list. You can use this to change your email address or resend the activation email if required. Also on the left is a link to Change Password.

Do people see my contact information?

Your contact information is kept private until you voluntarily share it with providers through private messaging. Additionally, you will notice that everyone on NRFA.org appears with only a first name.

How do I reset my password?

If you’ve forgotten your password, you can use the Forgot Your Password reset function underneath the log in boxes to get a temporary password sent to your email. Once you’re logged back in, you’ll be able to reset your password to something that you’ll be able to remember.

How to I block / unblock a member from contacting me?

If you are receiving emails through the NRFA messaging center and would prefer not to hear from certain users, you can choose to block them. To block a member, go to the messaging center, and select a message from that member. On the message there is an option to block the member. This can be undone if you later change your mind.

Why was my account not approved?

If you have received an email indicating that your account has not been approved, it is often the result of unintentionally setting up a profile in the wrong location of the website (agency filing as birth mother, donor registering as adoptee). Your account may also not be approved because we may have determined that you do not meet the eligibility requirements set forth in the terms of use for participating in NRFA.org. We also reserve the right not to approve your account for any reason or no reason, with or without notice. Furthermore, we have no obligation to notify you of the reason, if any, we did not approve your account.

Why was my photo not approved?

Use the checklist below to be sure your photo meets the following approval standards. Once you have met these requirements you can resubmit your photo at any time.

  • The orientation of your photo must be uploaded correctly.
  • Family photos and photos of children are OK.
  • No pictures that are too blurry, or too dim.
  • No self taken photos in the mirror.
  • No photos with anything inappropriate in the background.
  • Photo cannot contain any contact information.
  • Everyone in the picture must be fully clothed, including children.
  • Photos cannot be copyrighted.
  • Photos should be in line with NRFA.org’s terms and conditions

How do I cancel my subscription?

You’ve found your family match and now you’re ready to cancel your account. Visit the Your Account page, and navigate to the Membership Information section on the left side of the page. Here you will find the option to cancel your account. By setting your account to cancel, you are telling your account not to renew at the end of your current subscription period, and you will no longer be charged. You can perform this action well ahead of time so that it will automatically cancel for you at the end of your current subscription period. Please note that once your account downgrades, you will retain use of your account until your account expiration date.